About Us ǁ Top Management ǁ Contact Us

Top Management

Top Management for the Ministry

The Ministry is Politically headed by a minister and administratively led by the Principal secretary. All departments are headed by

Directors and have specialized sections that help in the implementation of their core functions.


Hon. Francis Kasaila, M.P

Minister of Agriculture and Food Security


 Hon. Chimwemwe Chipungu, M.P.

Dep Minister Of Agriculture and Food   Security  


Gray.S.V. Nyandule Phiri

The Principal Secretary

Ministry of Agriculture



Dr Y. Ntupanyama

Chief Director

Dr. Alexander Bulirani

Controller of Agricultural Services


Maxwell Spencer Tsitsi

Director of Administration

Martha Mtenje (Mrs)

Director of Human Resource


Alex Namaona

Director of Planning

F. Likwinji

Director of Finance

E. Simwaka

Controller of Int. Audit


Dr. G.P.N. Ching'oma

Director of Crops Development


Dr. Wilkson I.H. Makumba

Director of Agri. Reserch Services


Dr. Patrick Chikungwa

Ag. Director of AH&LD

George Kapelemera-Phiri

Ag. Programme Manager

Lilongwe ADD


John J. Mussa

Director of Land Resource


Dr. Jerome Nkhoma

Ag. Director of Agr. Ext. Serv


B.W.V. Phewa

Programme Manager

Mzuzu ADD

Saac Chipeta          

Ag. Programme Manager

Machinga ADD


  Ida Mwato

FISP Coordinator

Shire Valley ADD

 Richard Mgomezulu

Ag. Programme Manager

Salima ADD


S.A.. Kamanga

Programme Manager

Karonga ADD

Nelson T.W. Mataka

Head of NAIP Secretariat

 E.M. Mbalame

Director Water Supply &Sanitation



Connect with Us

  • Ministry of Agriculture Headquarters,
  • P.O. Box 30134, Lilongwe 3
  • Phone: +265 (0) 1 788 738
  • Fax: +265 (0) 1 788 908
  • Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
  • Physical Location: Ministry of Agriculture Headquarters Building, Capital Hill, Lilongwe.