Department of Irrigation

Department of Irrigation Services programs and activities are executed through its three divisions namely, Planning, Design and Construction; Research and Development; and, Management Services. The also has eight Irrigation Services Divisions (ISDs) aligned to the ADDs and further 27 District Irrigation Offices (all districts except Likoma).


Prosperity through Irrigation


To develop and manage irrigation and drainage infrastructure for diversified, economically sound and sustainable irrigation and drainage systems under organized smallholder and estate management institutions and to maintain an effective advisory service.

Strategic Objectives

Increase land under sustainable irrigation. Facilitate crop diversification and intensification. Create an enabling environment for irrigated agriculture. Optimize investment in irrigation development taking into account climate change. Enhance capacity for irrigated agriculture; and Promote a business culture in the small-scale irrigated agriculture sector.

Major Programmes

The main Irrigation programmes being implemented by the department include:

  • 1

    Irrigation development through a number of projects currently under implementation

  • 3

    Rehabilitation works of the damaged schemes due to Cyclone IDAI as well as old schemes

  • 2

    Regulation through monitoring the implementation of the Irrigation Code of Practice.

  • 4

    Review of policy and legislation frameworks

Policy Frameworks and Legislations

  • National Irrigation Policy (2016)
  • Irrigation Act (2001) undergoing review
  • Irrigation Code of Practice (ICoP) completed and disseminated
  • Irrigation Master Plan and Investment Framework (IMPIF) (2015-2035) under implementation

Our Priority Areas

Latest articles

Anchor/Megafarm Programme Contacts.

Postal Address

Ministry of Agriculture, P.O Box 30134, Capital city, Lilongwe 3



+265 889 558 933

Physical Address

Megafarm Building In Kanengo - along Area 25 road, behind kanengo puma filling station